Using Transport

02/04/2019

I use public transport very often because it's the easiest way for me to get places. I've still got just under a year until I can start driving so it's important that I can use buses and trains for just now.

 Most forms of transport are completely accessible now but there is the odd occasion where I have issues with it. What I like about using the bus and the train is that I don't have to move from my wheelchair and I can just wheel straight onto the bus, usually without any issue. But the problem with the buses is that they only have one wheelchair space available so if there is already someone using it I can't get onto the bus and I have to wait for the next one which, if you're in a hurry, is not very convenient. They also have a set place where your wheelchair should be positioned which is facing backwards with the wheelchair against the back of the seat. This never works for me and my wheelchair always moves which is not very safe and is actually quite embarrassing but no matter how much I try to move the bus conductor will tell me that it's the rules and they have to do it for health and safety. I get that they have to do that but in my opinion it's not very safe at all.

I probably use the train the most for longer journeys and I prefer it much more than using the bus. They always have more than enough room for my wheelchair and they have an accessible toilet. There have been some times that someone has booked the space, they've forgotten the ramp or there hasn't been an accessible toilet so to avoid these situations I book my tickets in advance and make sure I book assistance getting on and off the train. 

 You'd think taxis are the easiest way of transport but it's not. Most of them have accessible ramps but hardly any of the drivers know how to use it. I can actually transfer onto a seat but there have been occasions where they haven't taken me full stop. 

 Overall, in my opinion, my go to, to get to places is getting on the train. There's always usually enough space, a ramp to get on and a toilet but it's different for every wheelchair user to whatever their comfortable using. 

Add me on social media to get updates of when I post new blogs!
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started