How To Treat Someone With a Physical Disability

09/01/2019

I felt stupid writing this title but it's actually really important for me to write because it seems in 2019 some people still don't know how to approach someone with a physical disability. The answer is just how you would approach anybody because we are people too.





 I'd like to note that I am speaking on my own behalf and not for everyone who uses a wheelchair.

 If you see somebody in a wheelchair it doesn't automatically mean they won't be able to 'understand' you or hear what you are saying it's most likely because they struggle walking or cannot walk at all like myself. Just because I am in a wheelchair doesn't mean that I can't live a normal life like any other teenager sometimes I just need a bit of help.  

 You shouldn't feel awkward speaking to somebody with a disability and it's okay to ask questions but you need to understand that some people could find certain questions a bit too personal to answer or even maybe a bit offensive so you just need to watch how you phrase things. Asking someone, "why are you like this?" is not a great way to ask them about their disability. If someone is happy enough to openly speak about it then I'm sure they will. 

  People that know me will know that I almost make a joke out of my disability because there is no point feeling miserable about it, I am trying to make the very best out of my life and I won't let my disability stop me but a lot of the time people can make me feel different by sometimes saying hurtful things and I know it's usually not on purpose but it's not a nice feeling. 

 I have experienced hurtful comments in person and on social media about my disability because bullies use peoples weaknesses to target them but I don't see my disability as a weakness because it's sometimes a pretty good advantage...free parking. 

 In all seriousness, to conclude this I would just say at the end of the day we are all humans and we all deserve to be treated the same, religion, ethnicity, ability, sexuality etc.

 What I am trying to say is, just be nice to people. We have one world full of extraordinary people so embrace it, as i would say, "I'm embracing the cripple life," and that's just how it is.

 

Add me on social media to get updates of when I post new blogs!
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started