Growing Up With a Disability and Dealing With Bullying 

15/01/2019

For as long as I can remember I have always been in a wheelchair, I've not known life any differently. I got sick when I was just four months old so although I wasn't born paraplegic, the majority of my life I have been.

Casually rocking it in 2009.


 Growing up is never easy for anyone so using a wheelchair makes that experience a lot harder. I had never felt different until I started primary school because the other kids were curious and I suddenly realised that I was different.

 When I was younger I enjoyed primary school, I had a good circle of friends and they didn't see my wheelchair, I was just 'Hannah' to them but that wasn't always the case. Kids can be cruel and I experienced a lot of that in primary school. Some people called me names and said nasty stuff to me about my disability and told me what I could and couldn't do and looking back now I wish I had done something to stop it. I just took it in and got upset about it instead of fighting back. I'm not saying say rude things back or bully them but (ironic, I know) stand up for yourself. Pun intended. 

 In primary school, breaks and lunchtimes were always an issue. My friends would be running around the playground and I could never keep up and I was bored of never being able to take part in any games so I took up wheelchair basketball. This was out of school and I absolutely loved it. I made so many great friends there and for once, it didn't matter that you used a wheelchair because nearly everyone did! The basketball eventually took a very big part in my life and I ended up playing tournaments and competing in The Lord Taverners Junior Championships in 2014. That was a big highlight of my year.

The Lord Taverners Junior Championships, 2014


Junior League, 2015



 I miss the basketball and all the people there too. I'm hoping to join back again soon because ever since I started filming I had never had the chance to go to training and I would end up missing tournaments.


Throughout my childhood I've had many hospital appointments and operations and to this day I still get nervous if I have to go in, even just for a check up. I've never really been very brave but I try. Last time I had an operation I was the oldest in the ward so either way I had to put on a brave face and think positively because I remember being in for operations when I was little and it was one of the scariest things. You need to see somebody reassuring you and being happy, then you know it will be okay and it always has been.

 Some operations have had their downsides and it's been a long journey but I can say, most of them have been life changing and life would be a whole lot more difficult if I hadn't of had them done. 

Me in hospital in 2013 after undergoing surgery.

Add me on social media to get updates of when I post new blogs!
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started