Going to Gigs and Shows

11/03/2019

People that know me know that I love music and in my free time I love going to gigs. As much as I love going to see my favourite artists I also find it quite stressful because along with buying the tickets and going there, I need to be able to actually get in!
The standing area is obviously the most popular and busiest part of the show because the best views are there but I could never go to that part of the venue to see a show because of how busy and crowded it is so I always need to make sure that I have accessible seats booked. In big music arenas like the SSE Hydro in Glasgow it's normally never a problem because it's such a new building the accessibility is really good. There is always good access to toilets and a great view to the main stage.

The SSE Hydro, Glasgow



The most recent gig I went to was in The Metro Radio Arena, in Newcastle. This was the first time I had been to this arena and it was definitely a lot smaller than The Hydro but with being such a big band that was playing, it was mobbed. I actually found it quite scary going through the halls trying to get our drinks and seats etc. but luckily my cousin was there with me so in the end we had a great time. The accessible seating was on a slightly raised platform that you just went up a small ramp to get to so there were no lifts or anything involved, the only issue was the crowds but there was nothing you could really do about that!

Arctic Monkeys playing at the Metro Radio Arena in September 2018.


In January 2018 I had tickets to go and see two bands in the O2 Academy, Glasgow. This venue was not at all what I expected but as soon as I got there we were told to go in the back door so we managed to avoid the long queue outside. They took us inside and in the venue there were absolutely no seats. There was a bar at the back then a massive space for the crowds, then the stage. There were only a few other people there when we first went in and then it started to get busier and busier until we were literally trapped in the space we had been put in. Beside the bar, which was up a ramp, was the disabled toilet. The toilet was not very well equipped for someone in a wheelchair and when I had to go in and use it people were banging on the door trying to get in. Like I said as well, it was so crowded so trying to get from where we were sitting to the toilet was a total nightmare.

The band were absolutely amazing though and I had a great time.

Black Veil Brides at the O2 Academy, Glasgow.

Our next gig we are going to is planned at the SSE Hydro in the next couple of weeks and I can't wait. We booked our tickets well in advance so all our accessible seating is sorted. I'm still very nervous about going but I know it's going to be great!

Add me on social media to get updates of when I post new blogs!
Powered by Webnode Cookies
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started